## I MINA'TRENTAI SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTIONS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE COMMITTEE REPORT FILED	NOTES
334-35 (COR)		Relative to commending and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) on the occasion of its Sixty-Sixth (66th) Year Anniversary and the One Hundred Twenty-Second (122nd) Year Anniversary of the Philippine Independence, and extending a warm and sincere Un Dangkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase' to the FCG for keeping the Philippine culture and pride strong among the Filipinos of our island community; and to further recognizing the incoming Officers and Board of Trustees of the FCG for their unselfish love and devotion to the people of Guam.	•	ТВА						

## I MINA'TRENTAI SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2020 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 334-35 (COR)

Introduced by:

Amanda L. Shelton Oncucle Shell

Relative to commending and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) on the occasion of its Sixty-Sixth (66th) Year Anniversary and the One Hundred Twenty-Second (122nd) Year Anniversary of the Philippine Independence, and extending a warm and sincere *Un Dangkolo Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase'* to the FCG for keeping the Philippine culture and pride strong among the Filipinos of our island community; and to further recognizing the incoming Officers and Board of Trustees of the FCG for their unselfish love and devotion to the people of Guam.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I*MINA'TRENTAI SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) is one of Guam's most
- 4 outstanding non-profit, philanthropic, civic organizations; and is celebrating its Sixty-
- 5 Fifth (66th) Year Anniversary as one of our island's most active and well-known groups
- 6 that never fails to lend a hand to assist those in need, and is the parent organization of
- 7 sixty-five (65) member organizations; and
- 8 **WHEREAS**, (the FCG Officers are:
- James M. Robinson, President;
- Patrick S. Luces, 1st Vice President;
- Lynda D. Caasi, 2nd Vice President;

1 Kaye Lea Custodio, 3rd Vice President; 2 Edna R. Rebanal, Secretary; 3 Blanca A. Imbo, Assistant Secretary; 4 Elizabeth D. Cena, Treasurer; 5 • Loisa M. Cabuhat, Assistant Treasurer; 6 William dela Peña, Auditor; 7 Frank R. Huelar, Public Relations Officer; 8 Nilfa M. Milan, Peace Officer; and Emerson Uy Ordoñez, Peace Officer); and 9 10 **WHEREAS,** the FCG Board of Trustees are: 11 Mark V. Pangilinan, Chairman Emeritus; 12 Emelio Y. Uy, Emeritus; • Nita C. Baldovino, Chairman; 13 Attorney Daniel M. Manuel, Vice Chairman; 14 15 Norman S. Analista, Member; Emmanuel "Noly" Caluag, Member; 16 17 • Leah Beth Naholowaa, Member; Roy Salvador Adonay, Member; 18 19 Monito S. Co, Member; Richard B. Behag, Member; and 20 21 Sabina R. Tamondong, Member); and WHEREAS, the fine FCG Officers and Board of Trustees have been 22 23 successfully carrying on the traditions of the FCG and the Filipino people, recognizing the strong and growing interdependence that exists among the rich diversity of cultures 24

of Guam, and actively promoting civic, social and moral issues for everyone who lives on our beautiful island; and

WHEREAS, the FCG has responded to calamities that had plagued our fellow Filipinos in the Philippines as well as in our neighboring island of Saipan, by mobilizing the community of Guam in raising significant amounts of money, in kind donations of clothing, blankets, mattresses, toiletries, canned goods, other non-perishable goods, medicines, and medical equipment; and

WHEREAS, the FCG has contributed to undertaking several community projects on Guam, including the establishment of the Guam Heroes Memorial Park, and the statue of the late Archbishop Felixberto Flores, and contributed to the refurbishment of picnic shelters in the Governor Flores Memorial Park for the betterment of the community; and

WHEREAS, the FCG has made several sizeable monetary contributions to the island including donations to the Guam Museum Foundation, Guam Memorial Volunteers Association and to the University of Guam School of Education to name a few; and

WHEREAS, throughout its sixty-five (65) years of existence, the FCG has contributed to a countless number of projects improving the quality of life on Guam, and it continues to foster camaraderie within its member organizations in offering gratitude to an island that has been a generous home to them; and

WHEREAS, the COVID-19 pandemic has changed the way communities across the globe celebrate historical milestones. This year, the Filipino community on Guam has been invited by the Philippine Consulate General in Hagåtña to commemorate the 122<sub>nd</sub> Anniversary of the proclamation of Philippine Independence via several online events including broadcasting live Kalayaan 2020 celebrations from Manila via their Facebook page and various other historical commemorations; and

1	RESOLVED, that I Mina'trentai Singko Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby,							
2	on behalf of <i>I Liheslaturan Guåhan</i> and the people of Guam, ommend and congratulate							
3	the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) on the occasion of its Sixty-Sixth (66th) Year							
4	Anniversary and the One Hundred Twenty Second (122nd) Year Anniversary of the							
5	Philippine Independence, does extend a warm and sincere Un Dangkolo Na Si Yu'os							
6	Ma'ase to the FCG for keeping the Philippine culture and pride strong among the							
7	Filipinos of our island community, and does further recognize the incoming Officers							
8	and Board of Trustees of the FCG for their unselfish love and devotion to the people of							
9	Guam; and be it further;							
10	RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules							
11	certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of							
12	the same be thereafter transmitted to James M. Robinson, President of the Filipino							
13	Community of Guam; and to the Honorable Lourdes Leon Guerrero, I Maga'hågan							
14	Guåhan.							
	DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI SINGKO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE DAY OF MONTH 2020.							
	TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Speaker  RÉGINE BISCOE LEE Chair, Committee on Rules							
	AMANDA L. SHELTON Legislative Secretary							